Anna Rosina MATTHIEU (puis de GASC à partir de 1760), née LISIEWSKA (Berlin 1713-Dresde 1783)

Lot 132
Got to lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 14 168EUR
Anna Rosina MATTHIEU (puis de GASC à partir de 1760), née LISIEWSKA (Berlin 1713-Dresde 1783)
The future Empress Catherine II of Russia with her mother and her husband, the future Peter III, at a card game in the princely house of Anhalt-Zerbst (1757)
Watercolour, pen, Indian ink, black pencil and white chalk highlights.
Signed and dated lower centre Drawn by R. Matthieu née Lisiewska. 1757.
H. 46,5-W. 82 cm
History:
This drawing is important and extremely rare for German history as well as for the history of imperial Russia. Around the game table are sitting: on the left Princess Sophie-Frederic-Augusta of Anhalt-Zerbst (1729-1796), future Empress Catherine
II of Russia (1762-1796), in the center her mother Princess Jeanne-Elisabeth of Anhalt-Zerbst, born of Holstein-Gottorp (1712-1760), on the right her husband and cousin Duke Karl Peter Ulrich of Holstein-Gottorp (1728-1762), future and short-lived emperor of Russia under the name of Peter III (1762). They are surrounded by eight members of their family standing in an interior, including Prince George Louis of Holstein-Gottorp (1719-1763) and Princess Anne of Holstein-Gottorp (1709-1758), uncle and aunt of the future Catherine the Great.
It is highly probable that this scene was taken at the castle of Zerbst, home of the Anhalt-Zerbst family, where the future empress
Catherine II spent her childhood (the castle of Dornburg, built by her mother with the aim of receiving the future imperial couple, never reunited them in the end).
Anna Rosina Lisiewska was born in Berlin into a noble family of Polish origin. Her father Georg Lisiewski (1674-1751) taught her, her younger sister Anna Dorothea (1721-1782) and her brother Christoph Friedrich (1725-1794) to paint. She later studied with the Frenchman Antoine Pesne. In 1757, when our drawing was made, she was appointed official painter of the Court of Anhalt-Zerbst by the sovereign Frederick Augustus (1734-1793), brother of the future Catherine II. She painted many portraits, in particular that of the young Sophie in 1742, aged 13 (preserved in the Russian Museum in Saint Petersburg, see illustration opposite), that of her mother in 1752 (preserved in the castle of Gottorf), or that with her husband, the future Peter III in 1756 (preserved in the Nationalmuseum of Gripsholm castle). In 1741 she married the painter David Matthieu (1697-1755), and after his death she remarried in 1760 to Louis de Gasc, from whom she had two children. She died in Dresden in 1783.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Anna Rosina MATTHIEU (puis de GASC à partir de 1760), née LISIEWSKA (Berlin 1713-Dresde 1783)

Lot 132
Aller au lot
Estimation :
10000 - 15000 EUR
Anna Rosina MATTHIEU (puis de GASC à partir de 1760), née LISIEWSKA (Berlin 1713-Dresde 1783)
La future impératrice Catherine II de Russie en compagnie de sa mère et de son époux, le futur Pierre III, lors d'une partie de cartes dans la maison princière d'Anhalt-Zerbst (1757)
Aquarelle, plume, encre de Chine, crayon noir et rehauts de craie blanche.
Signé et daté en bas au centre Dessiné par R. Matthieu née Lisiewska. 1757.
H. 46,5-L. 82 cm
Historique:
Ce dessin est important et extrêmement rare pour l'histoire allemande ainsi que pour l'histoire de la Russie impériale. En effet, autour de la table à jeux sont assis: à gauche la princesse Sophie-Frédérique-Augusta d'Anhalt-Zerbst (1729-1796), future impératrice Catherine
II de Russie (1762-1796), au centre sa mère la princesse Jeanne-Élisabeth d'Anhalt-Zerbst, née de Holstein-Gottorp (1712-1760), à droite son époux et cousin le duc Karl Peter Ulrich de Holstein-Gottorp (1728-1762), futur et éphémère empereur de Russie sous le nom de Pierre III (1762). Il sont entourés par huit membres de leur famille se tenant debout dans un intérieur, dont le prince Georges-Louis de Holstein-Gottorp (1719-1763) et la princesse Anne de Holstein-Gottorp (1709-1758), oncle et tante de la future Catherine La Grande.
Il est fort probable que cette scène ait été prise au château de Zerbst, foyer des Anhalt-Zerbst qui a connu l'enfance de la future impératrice
Catherine II (le château de Dornbourg, construit par sa mère dans le but de recevoir le futur couple impérial, ne les aura finalement jamais réunis).
Anna Rosina Lisiewska est née à Berlin dans une famille noble d'origine polonaise. Son père Georg Lisiewski (1674-1751) lui apprend la peinture, ainsi qu'à sa jeune soeur Anna Dorothea (1721-1782) et à son frère Christoph Friedrich (1725-1794). Elle étudie par la suite avec le français Antoine Pesne. En 1757, date à laquelle a été réalisé notre dessin, elle est nommée peintre officielle de la Cour d'Anhalt-Zerbst par le souverain Frederick Auguste (1734-1793), frère de la future Catherine II. Elle a peint de nombreux portraits, notamment celui de la jeune Sophie en 1742, âgée de 13 ans (conservé au Musée Russe de Saint-Pétersbourg, voir illustration ci-contre), celui de sa mère en 1752 (conservé au château de Gottorf), ou encore celui avec son mari le futur Pierre III en 1756 (conservé au Nationalmuseum du château de Gripsholm). En 1741, elle s'était mariée avec le peintre David Matthieu (1697-1755) puis, après la mort de celui-ci, elle se remarie en 1760 avec Louis de Gasc de qui elle eut deux enfants. Elle meurt à Dresde en 1783.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue