19th century Sevres porcelain service. Marks... - Lot 306 - Thierry de Maigret

Lot 306
Got to lot
Estimation :
20000 - 25000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 264 040EUR
19th century Sevres porcelain service. Marks... - Lot 306 - Thierry de Maigret

19th century Sevres porcelain service.


Marks in blue with two Cs interlaced with fleur-de-lis and Sevres 26 or 27 for 1826 and 1827, various marks in hollow and decorators in particular for Sisson, fils.


With polychrome decoration in the center of a large bouquet of botanical flowers in a gold medallion, the fall and the wing of a frieze of stylized flowers gold and trellis with leaves and poppy flowers interspersed standing out on an agate background, gold nets on the edge and reverse, comprising:


- Four openwork "bowl baskets", with white and gold decoration (one bowl with crack and gold retouch, two others with very small chips to the pedestal)


- Two "Greek sugar pots" with adherent tray and their lids (one with chips in the central shaft)


- EIGHT "compotiers coupe à gorge" (one with restored rim section, one with small chips)


- Sixty plates; (Small chips and wear).


D plate-cup-corbeille: 21-23,6-25,2 cm-L sugar bowl: 22,2 cm


Provenance:


Gift from King Charles X to the Count of Caraman in February 1828, given by order of Monsieur le vicomte de La Rochefoucauld, aide de Camp to the King, in charge of the Department of Fine Arts of the King's Household (the original documents will be given to the buyer of the lot).


By descent to the present owners.


Exhibition:


Presented at the Exposition des produits des Manufactures Royales, at the Palais du Louvre, from 27 December 1827 to 5 January 1828, under the number M and under the name "Service ogives à bouquets de fleurs" (Inv. U7 L3 D1).


Count Georges de Caraman (1790-1860) was at the time Minister of France in Saxony, as mentioned on the official document of the Royal Manufacture of Sevres dated February 1828. Coming from a family originating from Languedoc (Béziers), which is divided at the end of the XVIIIth century into two branches, a French and a Belgian one, he is the second of four children, whose mother was born


Joséphine de Mérode. In 1822 he married Claire Duval de Grenonville, and had two daughters.


The exhibitions of the products of the Royal Manufactures:


These exhibitions, which began at the very end of the 18th century (1798), were intended to present the best of French production, and were often associated with official events linked to the regime in place. Alexandre


Brongniart, director of the Sèvres factory during the 19th century, asked that "the most beautiful finished pieces" be presented (MNS, Archives, T2 L1 D5, letter from Brongniart to the prefect of Seine et Oise, 6 March 1806).


The presentation of the productions of Sèvres being, not without difficulty, most of the time presented in a space being only dedicated to them, and thus separated from the other porcelain manufactures, to ensure the greatest possible solemnity (MNS, Archives, U16 L1 D3, Exhibition of the products of industry of 1827, the number of the Industrial Establishment of August 17, 1827 details the pieces presented by the manufacture of Sèvres).


This service, finally offered to the count of Caraman, is described in the "Register of the pieces entered in the store of sales" of the manufacture of Sèvres in 1827 like "bottom agathe/Bouquet of flowers fris ogive/printed" (Inv. Pb6 L-II-D3). It was presented in the exhibition of the products of the Royal Manufactures, at the Palais du


Louvre, and appears on the plan of the Louvre room under the reference "M".


Most of the flower bouquets in this service were painted by Pierre-Antoine Sisson (or Sinson), fils. This artist was active at the manufactory from 1818 to 1844 as a flower painter.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Service en porcelaine de Sèvres du XIXe... - Lot 306 - Thierry de Maigret

Lot 306
Aller au lot
Estimation :
20000 - 25000 EUR
Service en porcelaine de Sèvres du XIXe... - Lot 306 - Thierry de Maigret

Service en porcelaine de Sèvres du XIXe siècle.


Marques en bleu aux deux C entrelacés avec fleur de lys et Sevres 26 ou 27 pour 1826 et 1827, diverses marques en creux et de décorateurs en particulier pour Sisson, fils.


À décor polychrome au centre d'un large bouquet de fleurs botaniques dans un médaillon or, la chute et l'aile d'une frise de fleurs stylisées or et de treillage avec feuilles et fleurs de pavot intercalées se détachant sur un fond agate, filets or sur le bord et au revers, comprenant:


- Quatre «corbeilles jattes» ajourées, à décor blanc et or (une coupe avec fêlure et retouche à l'or, deux autres avec très petits éclats au piédouche)


- Deux «pots à sucre grec» à plateau adhérent et leurs couvercles (un avec éclats au fût central)


- HUIT «compotiers coupe à gorge» (un avec section du bord restaurée, un autre avec petits éclats)


- Soixante assiettes; (Petits éclats et petites usures).


D coupe-assiette-corbeille: 21-23,6-25,2 cm-L sucrier: 22,2 cm


Provenance:


Cadeau du Roi Charles X au comte de Caraman en février 1828, remis sur ordre de Monsieur le vicomte de La Rochefoucauld, aide de Camp du Roi, Chargé du Département des beaux Arts de la Maison du Roi (les documents originaux seront remis à l'acquéreur du lot).


Par descendance jusqu'aux propriétaires actuels.


Exposition:


Présenté dans le cadre de l'Exposition des produits des Manufactures Royales, au Palais du Louvre, du 27 décembre 1827 au 5 janvier 1828, sous le numéro M et sous le nom «Service ogives à bouquets de fleurs» (Inv. U7 L3 D1).


Le comte Georges de Caraman (1790-1860) était à l'époque ministre de France en Saxe, comme mentionné sur le document officiel de la manufacture royale de Sèvres en date de février 1828. Issu d'une famille originaire du Languedoc (Béziers), qui se divise à la fin du XVIIIe en deux branches, une française et une belge, il est le second d'une fratrie de quatre enfants, dont la mère était née


Joséphine de Mérode. Il épouse en 1822 Claire Duval de Grenonville, dont il aura deux filles.


Les expositions des produits des Manufactures Royales:


Ces expositions qui ont débuté dès l'extrême fin du XVIIIe siècle (1798), avaient pour but de présenter le meilleur des productions françaises, et étaient souvent associées à des événements officiels liés au régime en place. Alexandre


Brongniart, directeur de la manufacture de Sèvres au cours du XIXe siècle, demande à ce que soient présentées «les plus belles pièces terminées» (MNS, Archives, T2 L1 D5, lettre de Brongniart au préfet de Seine et Oise, 6 mars 1806).


La présentation des productions de Sèvres étant, non sans mal, la plupart du temps présentées dans un espace leur étant uniquement dédié, et donc séparée des autres manufactures de porcelaine, pour s'assurer de la plus grande solennité possible (MNS, Archives, U16 L1 D3, Exposition des produits de l'industrie de 1827, le numéro de l'Établissement industriel du 17 août 1827 détaille les pièces présentées par la manufacture de Sèvres).


Ce service, finalement offert au comte de Caraman, est décrit dans le «Registre des pièces entrées au magasin de ventes» de la manufacture de Sèvres en 1827 comme «fond agathe/Bouquet de fleurs fris ogive/imprimée» (Inv. Pb6 L-II-D3). Il a été présenté dans l'exposition des produits des Manufactures Royales, au Palais du


Louvre, et figure sur le plan de la salle du Louvre sous la référence «M».


La plupart des bouquets de fleurs de ce service ont été peints par Pierre-Antoine Sisson (ou Sinson), fils. Cet artiste était actif à la manufacture de 1818 à 1844 comme peintre de fleurs.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue