SEVRES

Lot 466
Aller au lot
1 000 - 1 500 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 16 588 EUR

SEVRES

Porcelain plate with polychrome and gold decoration in the centre of botanical flowers in a gold cartouche formed by a frieze of posts and inscribed Amaryllis de Broussonet, the wing decorated with a frieze in brown monochrome of floral and vegetable scrolls with birds interspersed between golden friezes.
Blue mark with two L's intertwined with fleur de lys and SEVRES around 1815-1824, various decorator's marks in brown, red and gold, including 12 August 19, hollow mark 18-II 19th century (restored brilliance and retouching associated with gold on the edge, small wear)
Diameter: 23 cm

Origin: From the service "Lilyceae Light blue background with brown ornaments" of King Louis XVIII for the château des Tuileries.
Ordered in 1819, several versions of coloured backgrounds were presented, only to finally choose the light blue background. A drawing by Jean-Charles Leloy kept in the archives of Sèvres-Cité de la Céramique and illustrated by Tamara
Préaud, The Sèvres Porcelain Manufactory, Alexandre Brongniart and the Triumph of Art and Industry, 1800-1847, 1998, n° 49, p. 231, presents some versions. Another drawing closer to our model but with a Greek frieze and no posts, is kept in the archives of Sèvres-Cité de la Céramique (Inv. MNCS Vb4-1819-Services de table). Selected for Louis XVIII's table at the Palais des Tuileries, a part was finally delivered on order of January 9, 1820 (Inv. MNCS Vbb 6 f° 46) and some of the pieces were presented at the Louvre Exhibition from 1820 to 1821 with the description of the bottom of the rim of the plates and ornaments imitating agates or chalcedonies engraved in cameos. On each piece, one or more flowers of the Liliaceae plant family, painted after the colourful engravings of Mr. Feared by Mr. Drouet. The service is mentioned "completely finished" in May 1820 and each plate was sold for 75 francs (Inv. MNCS Pb4-1819-Services de table).
Composed of more than 200 plates (plates, dessert, lunch) many are those that suffered during the revolution of July 1830.
A set of Redouté's drawings is kept in the collections of the Museum of
Fine Arts in Boston.
Another plate is held in the collections of Hillwood Estate, Museum and
Gardens in the United States.
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

SEVRES

Lot 466
Aller au lot
1 000 - 1 500 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 16 588 EUR

SEVRES

Assiette en porcelaine à décor polychrome et or au centre de fleurs botaniques dans un cartouche or formé d'une frise de postes et inscrit Amaryllis de Broussonet., l'aile à décor d'une frise en camaïeu brun de rinceaux fleuris et végétaux avec des oiseaux intercalés entre des frises or.
Marque en bleu aux deux L entrelacés avec fleur de lys et SEVRES vers 1815- 1824, diverses marques de décorateurs en brun, rouge et or dont 12 aout 19, marque en creux 18-II XIXème siècle (éclat restauré et retouches associées à l'or sur le bord, petites usures)
Diam.: 23 cm

Provenance: Du service «Liliacées Fond bleu pâle ornements en brun» du roi Louis XVIII pour le château des Tuileries.
Commandé dès 1819, plusieurs versions de fond de couleurs sont présentées, pour finalement choisir le fond bleu pâle. Un dessin de Jean-Charles Leloy conservé aux archives de Sèvres-Cité de la Céramique et illustré par Tamara
Préaud, The Sèvres Porcelain Manufactory, Alexandre Brongniart and the Triumph of Art and Industry, 1800-1847, 1998, n° 49, p. 231, en présente certaines versions. Un autre dessin plus proche de notre modèle mais avec une frise de grecque et pas de postes, est conservé dans les archives de Sèvres-Cité de la Céramique (Inv. MNCS Vb4-1819-Services de table). Sélectionné pour la table de Louis XVIII au Palais des Tuileries, une partie est finalement livrée sur ordre du 9 janvier 1820 (Inv. MNCS Vbb 6 f° 46) et certaines des pièces seront présentées à l'Exposition du Louvre de 1820 à 1821 avec le descriptif Fond du bord des assiettes et ornemens imitant les agates ou calcédoines gravées en camées. Sur chaque pièce, une ou plusieurs fleurs de la famille des plantes Liliacées, peintes d'après les gravures colorées de M. Redouté par M. Drouet. Le service est mentionné «complettement terminé» en mai 1820 et chaque assiette était vendue 75 francs (Inv. MNCS Pb4-1819-Services de table).
Composé de plus de 200 assiettes (plates, à dessert, de déjeuner) nombreuses sont celles qui ont souffert pendant la révolution de Juillet 1830.
Un ensemble des dessins de Redouté est conservé dans les collections du Museum of
Fine Arts de Boston.
Une autre assiette est conservée dans les collections de Hillwood Estate, Museum and
Gardens aux Etats-Unis.
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue